The SOMD Dean’s Student Advisory Council

Welcome to the website for the SOMD DSAC! We are a ten member council elected by the SOMD student body that represents various departments.

Mission Statement: The Dean’s Student Advisory Committee serves to facilitate open, positive, and productive communication between the student body, various departments, and the office of the Dean at the School of Music and Dance at the University of Oregon.

Meet the Council
What Do We Do?
Contact Us
Additional Resources

Meet the Council:

Coco Bailey
Social Media Chair
Representative of Undergrad Dance
She/her/hers pronouns
BA in Dance; BA in General Social Science
cbailey3@uoregon.edu

Michael McCann
Student Feedback Coordinator Chair
Representative of Undergrad Composition/Music Technology
He/him/his pronouns
BM in Composition; BMME in Band Music Education
mmccann@uoregon.edu

Natalie North
Minutes Chair
Representative of Undergrad Music Performance
She/her/hers pronouns
BM in Percussion Performance; BA in Music Theory
nnorth@uoregon.edu

Marjorie Sheiman
Faculty Liaison & Scheduling Chair
Representative of Undergrad Music Performance
She/her/hers pronouns
BM in Voice Performance
marjorie@uoregon.edu

Elizabeth Soper
Head Chair
Representative of Undergrad Music Education
She/her/hers pronouns
BMME in Band Music Education; BM in Flute Performance
esoper@uoregon.edu

Justin Stanley
Moderating Chair
Representative of Grad Music Performance
He/him/his & They/them/their pronouns
DMA in Horn Performance
jstanley@uoregon.edu

Morgan Bates
Representative of Grad Music Performance
She/her/hers & They/them/their pronouns
MM in Trumpet Performance; MA in Musicology
mbates3@uoregon.edu
 

Zari Crier
Representative of Undergrad General/Popular Music
He/him/his pronouns
BS in General Music
zcrier@uoregon.edu
 

Maykenzie Freeman
Representative of Undergrad General/Popular Music
She/her/hers pronouns
BA in Popular Music
mfreema4@uoregon.edu
 

Micheal Sebulsky
Representative of Grad Academic Areas
He/him/his pronouns
PhD in Music Theory
micheals@uoregon.edu

What Do We Do?:

  1. Act as a facilitator group to increase communication between various departments and student group in the school of music and dance; facilitate performances between music and dance communities and help with logistics;
  2. Address student concerns/complaints and send them through the proper channels;
  3. Provide students with a safe and optionally anonymous platform to have their concerns heard.

We are not able to address any issues that fall under Title IX or relate to Graduate Employee working conditions. For that please contact the Dean of Students Office or read about Title IX here.

Contact Us:

Our email: somddsac@gmail.com
Facebook
Instagram
Submit a comment/concern/complaint? Or Email us.

Additional Resources:

Dean of Students Office (Title IX concerns or to lodge a formal assualt or harassment complaint)
Accessible Education Center
ASUO Office of Student Advocacy

Bias Education and Response Team
Counseling Center
Duck Nest
UO GTFF Union
Report a Concern (non-emergency)
Information on Title IX